Archer’s Voice

20639274

When Bree Prescott arrives in the sleepy, lakeside town of Pelion, Maine, she hopes against hope that this is the place where she will finally find the peace she so desperately seeks. On her first day there, her life collides with Archer Hale, an isolated man who holds a secret agony of his own. A man no one else sees.

Archer’s Voice is the story of a woman chained to the memory of one horrifying night and the man whose love is the key to her freedom. It is the story of a silent man who lives with an excruciating wound and the woman who helps him find his voice. It is the story of suffering, fate, and the transformative power of love.

345 pages; Romance/New Adult; 2014

Screen shot 2016-04-04 at 10.18.15 PM

A fairly recent tragedy has sent Bree Prescott packing for what she anticipates to be a temporary getaway from life in Ohio. She pulls into the town of Pelion with little more than her VW Bug, a backpack, and her pup, Phoebe. After renting out a cottage and landing a waitressing position at a local diner, her collides with the Hales.

Well-known among the town’s inhabitants are a long line of Hale boys, all famously talked about in one way or another. Only Archer and Travis are left to carry on the family name and their ownership over Pelion.

Travis oozes charm and confidence, a notable police officer at 24 years old. Women throw themselves at him shamelessly but he now has his own on Bree and is determined to go to Hell and back to make her fall for him. What he didn’t count on was that she’d find herself drawn to someone else – his muscular, bearded, shaggy-haired mute of a cousin.

Archer Hale has had his own history of tragedies, one of which marked his skin and claimed his voice. Self-taught in sign language, he’s had nobody to share his language with for the years following his Uncle Nate’s passing. Until a handful of Almond Joy candy bars and a box of tampons rolled onto his path, that is.

Screen shot 2016-04-05 at 8.25.01 AM

Bree is a great character. Her level of patience and understanding, her empathy and her perseverance, are as clear as crystal with every chapter that unfolds. I like to think that Hoover moulded and shaped Archer’s person first and only then did she dream up this girl who could only belong in his heart. Her gift to him.

Screen shot 2016-04-05 at 8.25.45 AM

Archer Hale.
Archer.
Hale.

I can’t remember the last time a fictional character sliced into my heart in this way. I cheered fervently for him and I shed rivers for him. I ached for him and I felt over-the-moon happy for him. Evidently, I kept having to remind myself this was a fictional character.

Screen shot 2016-04-05 at 8.26.03 AM

This is a story that won’t soon leave me. I know I’ll wonder about these characters’ futures as if they were made of flesh and blood. There’s so much more I would say but I’m not one for major spoilers and this is one you want to go into half-blind. I’ve scared the shit out of my husband with loud gasps and/or tears as I read, I’ve been sick with dizziness and headaches and still couldn’t put it down, I’ve melted over and over again by Archer’s natural sweetness.

I have a husband who calls me every day after work on his drive home. We’ve been together for 12 years , he knows he’ll be spending the rest of his day with me …and yet, he calls. And not just to check in on me for 30 seconds. We talk. Sometimes it lasts for 5 minutes, other times, 30 have passed before I notice. He asks me how my day has been so far and he’s actually eager to hear the answer. The one thing I’m taking away with me from this read, incorporating it into my every day life, is the way Archer and Bree communicate when they’re apart. I look forward to texting my husband on weekdays to ask him what he’d put on his happy list, what’s on his calm list, and I’ll think of more to fill the rest of our days.

So I leave you now with quotes, my personal soundtrack, and these last thoughts:

I wish I could forget all about it just so I could read it again for the first time.

Screen shot 2016-04-04 at 10.17.59 PM

Screen shot 2016-04-01 at 11.04.23 PM


screen-shot-2016-04-04-at-10-56-54-pm

1. You Can Let Go – Crystal Shawanda
2. Statue – Lil Eddie
3. Beautiful Disaster – Kelly Clarkson
4. Love Me Like You Do – Ellie Goulding
5. I Got You – Nikki Flores
6. Wildest Dreams – Taylor Swift
7. Goodbye – Jagged Edge
8. Your Side Of The Bed – Trey Songz
9. Fight Song – Rachel Platten
10. Make You Feel My Love – Adele
11. When You Say Nothing At All – Alison Krauss


screen-shot-2016-04-04-at-10-58-29-pm

  •  “The smile that he greeted me with each day made me feel treasured as I ran into his arms, feeling in my head and my heart that I was finally home. Not the place, but his arms. Archer’s arms were my home – the only place I wanted to be, the place where I felt safe. The place where I felt loved.”
  • “And in that moment, I knew. I was falling in love with the beautiful, silent man staring down at me. If I hadn’t already fallen.”
  • “Maybe there was no right or wrong, no black or white, only a thousand shades of grey when it came to pain and what we each held ourselves responsible for.”
  •  “There’s nothing better than watching someone no one expects to win, come out ahead, don’t you think?”
  •  “Her love slips quietly around me, holding me, anchoring me, reminding me that the loudest words are the ones we live.”
  • “Someday, when we’re old and gray, I’m going to look at you lying in bed beside me, just like this, and I’m going to look into your eyes and know that it’s only ever been you. And that is going to be the great joy in my life, Bree Prescott.”
  • “I lost my heart to you. And, Bree, in case you’re wondering, I don’t ever want it back.”
  • “It was as if my body was his instrument and he learned to play it so perfectly that the melody vibrated within my very soul. Not only because of the pleasure he brought, but because he cared so much to know every little thing about me.”
Leave a Reply

