Self-Proclaimed Orphan

April 13th, 2012.

That was the last time
I looked in the mirror
And saw
A daughter
Staring back at me.

Children
Are the ones who grow
Up
And
Outward
But for us –
It was
You
Who
Outgrew
Me

I’m sorry
For the child I was
I was just
Lost
Confused
Scared

I’m sorry
It was
Him I missed
Him I cried for
Him I needed

When it was
Him who wronged you
Him who hurt you
Him who changed us

I’m sorry
That it affected
My life so

But that was then
And this is now

Years came
Years went

And
Somewhere
Along
The line

You
Forgot

Forgot that you are a
Mother
Forgot that you have
A daughter

Forgot that one
“Happy Birthday”
Can
Make
A
Difference

So now
Here I am

Two parents
Walking the world
One –
God knows where
The other –
Beneath my roof
Without
A thought spent
On their
Faded
Daughter

And all that’s left
Is the
Broken
Heart
Of a
Self-Proclaimed
Orphan

Leave a Reply

